Park Place Lodge

need for veterinarian

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      dennis
      Participant

Hello. We live in north Idaho and we have spent a great deal of time in the Fernie area over the past five years. We have had an interest in relocating to Canada and Fernie would be my first choice.

I am a veterinarian by trade and have noticed at least one animal hospital in Fernie. Also, in the phone book, I only see that same hospital listed.

I would appreciate any opinion regarding the need for another practicing veterinarian in Fernie. I have over 20 years experience and not only practice conventional medicine but holistic as well.

Thanks for your time and feedback.

username
      Participant

I’m not sure about the need for another clinic….but I do know that the dog population in Fernie is gigantic. There is at least 4 dogs per block here in Fernie. There are also plenty of cows and horses.I personally don’t take my 2 dogs to the clinic in Fernie but instead prefer the all female Dr’s in Cranbrook.

griz-boy
      Participant

Absolutely YES!!!

We do have one vet in town, but is really really bad! He must be burnt out or unmotivated to do better because he is the only one in town. I have only had to go to him once to never want to return again.

Myself and friends as well take our pets to Cranbrook about an hours drive away, they are excellent vets. Blairmore I have also heard has a good vet. On occasion we drive up to Calgary for yearly shots.

I would save alot of time if there was someone good in town. We also lost our pet store this summer. We could use a place to get misc supplies. Again Cranbrook or Calgary for dog food.

lk
      Participant

Yes Please think about it I am another on that agrees with Griz Boy It sucks and i take both my Dogs to Cranbrook. The Vet Now is Never around when we really need him. And i Also know alot of other people that refuse to take there pets there. Another vet would be great for Fernie.

sparkes