wise people of fernie , please help answer my questions

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      -iceman-
      Participant

hey everyone thanks now for any input you can give me on the following…..it is my first time to stay in fernie so i have a few questions
      to ask you guys who know!

1, what is the best and cheapest way to get from calgary to fernie in mid oct?
      2,who is the best and cheepest power company?
      3,who is the best and cheepest gas company?
      4,where can i get the best and cheapest house and contents insurance?
      5,what is the average salary per weekmonth in fernie? or the minimum wage in canada?
      6, whats the deal with tipping? how much is fair? and when is it needed?
      7, what side of the road do you drive on?
      8,who provides the best and most reliable internet packages?

Thanks to everybody who can help answer my questions….

gavitron
      Participant

I don’t want to be held accountable, so here are my answers, in the form of opinion only:

1 – Depends on how much stuff you need to get here. If its just you and a bit of luggage, try bribing someone like me. Otherwise the greyhound bus (pricey) or shuttles (I hear are pricey). Hitchiking is always the most affordable.
      2 – BC Hydro basically runs the power show around here. They are affordable.
      3 – Teresan Gas, also runs the show and are the safest option.
      4 – Most things are regulated in BC. Although insurance rates may very slightly, you won’t notice big differences. I’d say just pay for exactly what you want.
      5 – Minimum wage is $8/hr, although most bussinesses are currently paying more do to labour shortages. If you’re just looking for work to get you by, I’d suggest the service industry, people tend to be quite generous with tipping while on vacation.