Park Place Lodge

FERNIE – DOG POOP CAPITAL OF THE KOOTENAYS

Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author
      me_stupid2
      Participant

I’m new in fernie. It will be my third year living here starting in May. Of the many places I have lived, none seem to come close to Fernie in the amount of dog poop that is on the walking areas. Sides of roads, trails, sidewalks, parks, and even parking lots are disgustingly littered with it. It’s not just "the usual" amount that you would expect in certain areas. No, its equal to or greater than the amount of litter that is often seen. For example I walked 3 blocks in one neighborhood and, no lie, there wasn’t more than 6ft distance between "piles" for the entire 3 blocks. And this wasn’t in the ditch. This was right along the side of the street where you normally walk or bike on the pavement. Makes for a pleasant evening stroll doesn’t it?

Fernie is a beautiful town in a beautiful area. This, then, is where I am perplexed. Is it Fernie citizens who let their dogs do their business without cleaning it up? Is it tourists? Or pehaphs dogs are let out on their own to do their business? Is there a greater dog-to-human population in Fernie than in other areas? What is the bylaw in fernie on this? How can we get more cooperation so that when myself, or anyone for that matter, goes out for a bike ride, we don’t have to put on fenders just to keep the stuff off us? Or so that we don’t have to check our shoes every time we get back from a walk?

I like dogs, I like people, and I like Fernie, and I like to get outside and not worry about dodging "land mines." What can we do to improve?

-Devon

cs86
      Participant