Park Place Lodge

Wake up B.C., value your paramedics

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      tmrinas
      Participant

Courier-Islander – Friday, April 03, 2009

(A letter to the Ambulance Paramedics of BC, published here by request.)

I would firstly like to say that I am totally with you guys and all the things that you stand for as individuals. I am from London in the UK, and have lived in Vancouver for nearly two years now. I am a qualified EMT (Primary Care Paramedic ) (PCP) and had worked for the London Ambulance Service (LAS), for six and a half years. During my time with the LAS, I attended the London terrorist bombings, multiple shootings, stabbings, suicides, birthed babies at home and in the back of my ambulance, picked up pieces of bodies from on and under train tracks, and of course the rest of society could throw at me.

I work at St Paul’s Hospital as a porter/ward aide, I am not allowed to use my skills as a PCP in any way, shape or form. I need a certificate or a diploma to do anything other than porter and stack shelves with the very equipment and medical dressings that I once used in a very different way.